Fall 2016 Schedule

Screen/Society--Dinner and a Movie Series--"Prom Night in Mississippi" Thursday, August 18, 2016 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm Nasher Museum of Art Lecture Hall
Screen/Society--Reel Women Directors of the Middle-East--"Women Without Men" Monday, September 12, 2016 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Special Event--"Jimmy P: Psychotherapy of a Plains Indian" Tuesday, September 13, 2016 - 3:00pm to 5:15pm Smith Warehouse - Bay 4, C105 -- Ahmadieh Family Lecture Hall
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Film Noir Series--"Le dernier tournant" ("The Last Turning") Monday, September 19, 2016 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--2016 NC Latin American Film Festival--"Mirar morir: El ejercito en la noche de Iguala" / "Watching Them Die: The Mexican Army and the 43 Disappeared" Monday, September 26, 2016 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--"Down by Law" Wednesday, September 28, 2016 - 3:00pm to 5:00pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--"Koyaanisqatsi" Thursday, September 29, 2016 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--2016 NC Latin American Film Festival--"El abrazo de la serpiente" / "The Embrace of the Serpent" [Reception @6pm--Hall of Science / Film @ 6:30pm] Friday, September 30, 2016 - 2:30pm to 5:00pm LSRC B101 (Love Auditorium)
Screen/Society--Reel Women Directors of the Middle-East [Lebanon]--"Where Do We Go Now?" Monday, October 3, 2016 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--2016 NC Latin American Film Festival--"Tormenta en los Andes" / "Storm in the Andes" + Short: "Escúchame Cantar" / "Listen to Me Sing" Wednesday, October 5, 2016 - 3:00pm to 5:30pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Film Noir Series--"Odd Man Out" Monday, October 17, 2016 - 3:00pm to 5:15pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Cine-East: East Asian Cinema--Memory Project [China]--"Self-portrait: Dying at 47 KM" Tuesday, October 18, 2016 - 3:00pm to 4:30pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Memory Project--"Reading Hunger": Performance by Four Filmmakers Wednesday, October 19, 2016 - 3:00pm to 4:30pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Cine-East: East Asian Cinema--Memory Project [China]--"A True Believer" Thursday, October 20, 2016 - 3:00pm to 4:30pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Cine-East: East Asian Cinema--Memory Project [China]--"No Land" Tuesday, October 25, 2016 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--"Documentaries on the Edge"--"Vernon, Florida" + "Lessons of Darkness" Wednesday, October 26, 2016 - 3:00pm to 5:15pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Cine-East: East Asian Cinema--Memory Project [China]--"Investigating My Father" (U.S. Premiere!) Friday, October 28, 2016 - 3:00pm to 4:30pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase/Reel Women Directors of the Middle-East [Israel]--"Gett: The Trial of Viviane Amsalem" Tuesday, November 1, 2016 - 3:00pm to 5:15pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Cine-East: East Asian Cinema [Taiwan]--"The Assassin" (DCP screening!) Wednesday, November 2, 2016 - 3:00pm to 5:00pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Nasher Southern Cinema Film Series--"Junebug" Sunday, November 6, 2016 - 9:00am to 11:00am Nasher Museum of Art
Screen/Society--Reel Women Directors of the Middle-East [Algeria]--"Rachida" Monday, November 7, 2016 - 2:00pm to 3:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--DEMAN Weekend Lead-In/AMI Showcase--Alumni Filmmaker Homecoming series--"Revolve on Camera: The Performances" w/ filmmakers Benjamin Epps '00 & Heather Bowles Epps '00 Thursday, November 10, 2016 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Nasher Southern Cinema Film Series--"Eve's Bayou" [special 3PM start time!] Sunday, November 13, 2016 - 10:00am to 12:00pm Nasher Museum of Art
Screen/Society--Cine-East: East Asian Cinema [China]--"Iron Moon: The Poetry of Chinese Workers" (docu. + filmmaker Q&A) Sunday, November 13, 2016 - 2:00pm to 3:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Reel Women Directors of the Middle-East [Turkey]--"Mustang" Monday, November 14, 2016 - 2:00pm to 3:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Cine-East: East Asian Cinema [S. Korea]--"Assassination" Tuesday, November 15, 2016 - 2:00pm to 4:30pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--2016 AMI Student Film Festival Thursday, November 17, 2016 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Film in Theory series--David Lynch's "Rabbits" + in-depth discussion Friday, November 18, 2016 - 2:00pm to 3:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Nasher Southern Cinema Film Series--"Southern Shorts: NC Filmmakers" + filmmaker Q&A Sunday, November 20, 2016 - 9:00am to 11:00am Nasher Museum of Art
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Film Noir Series--"Stray Dog" Monday, November 21, 2016 - 2:00pm to 4:15pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Nasher Southern Cinema Film Series--"Tchoupitoulas" Sunday, November 27, 2016 - 9:00am to 10:45am Nasher Museum of Art
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Diaspora & Community--"Iré a Santiago" (Sara Gómez, 1964)+"Killer of Sheep" (Charles Burnett, 1977) + discussion Monday, November 28, 2016 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm American Tobacco Campus - Power Plant: Full Frame Theater