Fall 2015 Schedule

Screen/Society--Dinner and a Movie Series--"F for Fake" Thursday, August 20, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm Nasher Museum of Art Auditorium
Screen/Society--French & Francophone Film Festival--"Love at First Fight" ("Les combattants") Monday, August 31, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Special Events--"Write Down, I Am an Arab" Wednesday, September 2, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:15pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--New Turkish Cinema series--"Once Upon a Time in Anatolia" Monday, September 7, 2015 - 3:00pm to 5:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--French & Francophone Film Festival--"Girlhood" ("Band de filles") Tuesday, September 8, 2015 - 3:00pm to 5:00pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Alumni Filmmaker Homecoming Series--"An evening w/ Lawrence Chen '09" Thursday, September 10, 2015 - 3:00pm to 5:00pm Carr 103
Screen/Society--French & Francophone Film Festival--"Timbuktu" Monday, September 14, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Cine-East--"Poetry" (Lee Chang-dong, S. Korea) Tuesday, September 15, 2015 - 3:00pm to 5:15pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Cuban Cinema Series--"Soy Cuba" Wednesday, September 16, 2015 - 3:00pm to 5:30pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Cuban Cinema Series--"Lucia" Monday, September 21, 2015 - 3:00pm to 5:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--French & Francophone Film Festival--"Li'l Quinquin" ("P'tit Quinquin") Tuesday, September 22, 2015 - 3:00pm to 6:45pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Cuban Cinema Series--"Memories of Underdevelopment" Wednesday, September 23, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--NC Latin American Film Festival--"H2Omx" & "En la Orilla" Saturday, September 26, 2015 - 12:00pm to 2:00pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--NC Latin American Film Festival--"Ballplayer: Pelotero" Saturday, September 26, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:15pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--French & Francophone Film Festival--"Two Days, One Night" ("Deux jours, une nuit") Monday, September 28, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Rights! Camera! Action!--"Into the Abyss" Tuesday, September 29, 2015 - 3:00pm to 5:00pm Rubenstein Library Holsti-Anderson Family Assembly Room 153
Screen/Society--NC Latin American Film Festival--Venezuelan Cinema Program--Four shorts & a talk Wednesday, September 30, 2015 - 10:00am to 12:00pm John Hope Franklin Center 240
Screen/Society--NC Latin American Film Festival--"Swing con son" [35mm] Wednesday, September 30, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:15pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--NC Latin American Film Festival--World Premiere of "Do Mangue" w/ director Thursday, October 1, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm American Tobacco Campus - Power Plant: Full Frame Theater
Screen/Society--NC Latin American Film Festival--Short Documentaries from Cuba by Gustavo Pérez Fernández (filmmaker Q&A to follow) Saturday, October 3, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--French & Francophone Film Festival--"Hiroshima Mon Amour" Tuesday, October 6, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Cine-East (China)--"A Tribute to Video Artist Shigeko Kubota, 1937-2015" Wednesday, October 7, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--New Turkish Cinema series--"Inside"("Yeralti") Wednesday, October 14, 2015 - 3:00pm to 5:15pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--French & Francophone Film Festival--"Mommy" Monday, October 19, 2015 - 3:00pm to 5:30pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Rights! Camera! Action!--"Voices of the Lumbee" Tuesday, October 20, 2015 - 2:30pm to 4:15pm Rubenstein Library Holsti-Anderson Family Assembly Room 153
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Film Noir Series--"Out of the Past" Wednesday, October 21, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Animation Series--"The Man Who Planted Trees" & "Tale of Tales" Thursday, October 22, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:15pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Cine-East: East Asian Cinema (China)--"A Chronicle of My Cultural Revolution" Monday, October 26, 2015 - 3:00pm to 5:30pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Cine-East: East Asian Cinema (China)--"Summary of Crimes" Tuesday, October 27, 2015 - 3:00pm to 5:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--2015 AMI Student Film Festival (curated festival of works produced at Duke) Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Animation Series/Cine-East: East Asian Cinema (Japan)--"Ponyo" Tuesday, November 3, 2015 - 2:00pm to 4:15pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Film Noir Series--"In a Lonely Place" Wednesday, November 4, 2015 - 2:00pm to 3:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Alumni Filmmaker Homecoming Series--dir. Kristi Jacobson '93 presents 'A Place at the Table' (Q&A to follow) Thursday, November 5, 2015 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--New Turkish Cinema--"Innocence of Memories"-- Lead-in to visit by novelist Orhan Pamuk Tuesday, November 10, 2015 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Cine-East: East Asian Cinema (Japan)--"Like Father, Like Son" Wednesday, November 11, 2015 - 2:00pm to 4:15pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--New Turkish Cinema--"Kosmos" Monday, November 16, 2015 - 2:00pm to 4:30pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--AMI Showcase--Film Noir Series--"On Dangerous Ground" Wednesday, November 18, 2015 - 2:00pm to 3:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Special Event--"Joachim Prinz: I Shall Not Be Silent" Tuesday, December 1, 2015 - 2:00pm to 3:15pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--New Turkish Cinema--"Beyond the Hill" Wednesday, December 2, 2015 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)