Fall 2011 Schedule

Screen/Society--2011 French Film Series--"A Prophet" (Un prophète) Monday, September 5, 2011 - 4:00pm to 6:30pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--2011 French Film Series--"Two in the Wave" (Deux de la Vague) Monday, September 12, 2011 - 4:00pm to 5:45pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Cine-East: East Asian Cinema--"Nobody Knows" Wednesday, September 14, 2011 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Muslim Film Series--"Salt of This Sea" - with director Annemarie Jacir in person! Thursday, September 15, 2011 - 4:00pm to 6:15pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--2011 French Film Series--"A Screaming Man" (Un homme qui crie) Monday, September 19, 2011 - 4:00pm to 5:45pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Special Events--"!W.A.R. - Women Art Revolution" Thursday, September 22, 2011 - 3:00pm to 4:30pm Nasher Museum of Art Lecture Hall
Screen/Society--2011 French Film Series--"Potiche" ("Trophy Wife") Monday, September 26, 2011 - 4:00pm to 5:45pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Special Event--Tarkovsky's "STALKER" - ultra rare 35mm screening of the classic film! Wednesday, September 28, 2011 - 3:00pm to 5:45pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--2011 French Film Series--"Of Gods and Men" ("Des hommes et des dieux") Monday, October 3, 2011 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Muslim Film Series--"Today's Special" Tuesday, October 4, 2011 - 4:00pm to 5:45pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Future of the Feminist 70s--"I Am Somebody"/ "Wanda" Wednesday, October 5, 2011 - 4:00pm to 6:15pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--2011 French Film Series--"Outside the Law"/ "Hors-la-loi" Wednesday, October 19, 2011 - 4:00pm to 6:15pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Special Event--"Mnemosyne" by visiting filmmaker John Akomfrah Thursday, October 20, 2011 - 3:00pm to 3:45pm Nasher Museum of Art Lecture Hall
Screen/Society--Cine-East: East Asian Cinema--"My Fancy High Heels" Monday, October 24, 2011 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--2011 French Film Series--"La danse: le Ballet de l'Opera de Paris" Wednesday, October 26, 2011 - 3:00pm to 5:30pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--N.C. Latin American Film Festival--"El Infierno" Monday, November 7, 2011 - 2:00pm to 4:30pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Future of the Feminist 70s--"The Woman's Film"/"News From Home" Wednesday, November 9, 2011 - 3:00pm to 5:15pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--NC Latin American Film Festival--Documentary Program--SAF short works + "El Velador" (Mexico, 2011, 72 min) Saturday, November 12, 2011 - 1:30pm to 3:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--North Carolina Latin American Film Festival--"Tropa de Elite" Monday, November 14, 2011 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Special Event--"An Evening with Experimental Filmmaker Roger Beebe" Tuesday, November 15, 2011 - 3:00pm to 4:15pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater
Screen/Society--Cine-East: East Asian Cinema--"Beijing Taxi" - Q&A with director Miao in person! Wednesday, November 16, 2011 - 3:00pm to 4:15pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Muslim Film Series--"Mooz-Lum"--followed by a Skype Q&A w/ the filmmaker! Thursday, November 17, 2011 - 2:00pm to 3:15pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Cine-East: East Asian Cinema--"Seopyeonje" Wednesday, November 30, 2011 - 3:00pm to 4:45pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--Muslim Film Series--"Crossing the Bridge: The Sound of Istanbul" Thursday, December 1, 2011 - 3:00pm to 4:30pm White 107 (White Lecture Hall)
Screen/Society--AMI Duke Student Film Showcase, Pt. II Thursday, December 8, 2011 - 1:00pm to 5:30pm Bryan Center Griffith Film Theater